Beaverton Gem Theatre
A brief history on the Gem Theatre
The Gem Theatre has been in the Beaverton community for over 75 years. Construction on the Gem was started by Mr. Jim Methner in 1939 and was completed in 1940. The first week in October saw the grand opening of the Gem featuring a film titled "No Time for Comedy". The Gem would continue to be operated by Mr. Methner all the way into the late 1980's.
Mr. Henry "Hank" Huckins would become the next steward of the Gem adding various upgrades to seating, surround sound, and general ambiance upgrades.
Following Mr. Huckins came the third owner of the Gem. Mr. Henry List who oversaw the operations from 2001-2016 bringing the Gem into the digital age in a time when many single screens such as ours were facing sure closure. A big step for the theater industry as this was the first major upgrade since the addition of sound in the 1930's.
The Wyrembelski family saw a deep need for the continuation of the Gem's legacy in Gladwin county and purchased the theater from Mr. List and began a major overhaul of the Gem in March of 2016. Many of the upgrades included sound, seating, and facilities all the way to a total facelift of the facade. Please stay tuned as the Gem Theater's saga continues......
Opening week 1940
Gem Theatre in the 1990's
Mr. Henry List
Operator from 2001-2016